Fixing Tech Hiccups: Based on true story

Fixing Tech Hiccups: Based on true story

Introduction

Ever noticed how solving one tech puzzle can help crack another? Recently, I faced a head-scratcher while setting up the IPFS daemon.

IPFS : Interplanetary File System (IPFS) is a decentralized, peer-to-peer file sharing protocol. It's an internet protocol that allows users to access content without a centralized server

As I investigated the error, I discovered that it was utilizing an API gateway and requiring port 8080 for its daemon and CLI. It dawned on me – many other tools, like NGINX, also occupy that port. Could this be the root of the issue?

The Dilemma

Thinking back to a recent run-in with the Cloud API gateway, I remembered a similar struggle. The gateway blocked things, messing up my IPFS plans. Could this be déjà vu?

Connecting the Dots

After a bit of pondering, a lightbulb moment happened. I realized that knowing how to handle conflicting port issues could be the secret sauce to fixing my current problem.

Solving the Riddle

On a mission to conquer this tech challenge, I remembered a trick – terminating processes on Windows. Lo and behold, that trick became my superhero move, freeing up port 8080 from its captor.

This is what I did. First searched the solution on google. 😂😂

then open cmd and run this code

netstat -ano | findstr :<PORT>
taskkill /PID <PID> /F

Also here's a linux alternative

lsof -i:<PORT>
kill -9 $(lsof -t -i:<PORT>)

Takeaway

This adventure taught me a solid lesson – every tech hiccup you overcome adds to your superpowers. Even seemingly unrelated experiences can team up to tackle unexpected glitches. It's like building a toolkit for handling future tech mysteries.

Conclusion

In the ever-changing tech world, each problem you tackle becomes a stepping stone. Embrace those victories and challenges alike – they all contribute to your tech wisdom, making you more resilient for the next adventure.